Protecting Your Commercial Driver’s License

Professional commercial drivers all know the importance of their commercial driver’s licenses (CDLs). Without a CDL, you simply cannot continue working in the same job. If you lose your license, your career is over.

I am attorney Daniel A. Webb. I represent commercial drivers throughout the Little Rock area of Arkansas in a range of matters concerning CDL violations and defense. If you are in danger of losing your license or even if you are facing your first minor traffic offense, I can help you. With more than 20 years of experience, I know how to fight to protect your driving privileges and potentially save your career. While I cannot promise specific results, I can promise that I will do everything possible to help you save your career.

Check the questions and answers before, then reach out to discuss the details of your case with an experienced lawyer.

What types of violations will result in losing my license immediately?

There are a few types of violations that could result in the loss of your CDL.

  • Minor violations: Speeding less than 15 miles per hour over the limit, parking tickets and related incidents are considered minor traffic violations. While none of these on their own can result in losing your CDL, they do compile. Each violation is given a certain number of points against your license, and when you accrue a certain number in total, you could have your license suspended or revoked.
  • Serious violations: Serious traffic violations in Arkansas include speeding more than 15 mph over the speed limit, erratic lane changes, reckless driving and tailgating. While a single serious traffic violation will not cause CDL revocation, more than two of these committed within a single three-year time frame can result in a four-month (120-day) license suspension.
  • Major violations: Major violations include driving while intoxicated (or refusal to submit to an alcohol test of your blood, breath or urine), leaving the scene of an accident, using your vehicle in the commission of a felony crime, negligent use of the commercial vehicle resulting in someone’s death and related actions. With even the first offense of a major violation, you will lose your CDL for at least a year. A second violation can result in the loss of your license for life.

Will I lose my CDL with a DWI?

Yes. Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a major violation. As such, a first offense will result in a one-year revocation (three years if you were driving intoxicated while transporting hazmat), and a second conviction will result in a lifetime loss of your CDL privileges.

What if I commit a violation while driving my own car and not working?

If you commit one of the violations mentioned above, but you do so while driving your own personal vehicle and you are not operating a commercial vehicle as part of your job, you can still lose your CDL. In fact, the same rules apply whether you are driving in your official capacity or as a private citizen. If you accumulate the amount of points that would result in the revocation of your private driver’s license, that revocation would apply to your CDL, as well. Similarly, if you commit a major violation like driving while intoxicated in your own car, your license will be revoked for a year, and that revocation would apply to your CDL, as well.

Can a lawyer prevent the loss of my CDL?

It depends on the specifics of your case. The most important thing to remember is that every violation matters. Even the most minor violation like a simple parking ticket could end up being fatal to your CDL if other violations are added to it in the future. It is critical that you fight every violation aggressively and do whatever you can to protect your license.

Contact Daniel A. Webb, PA

I offer free initial consultations to discuss how we can protect your CDL. Call me at 501-406-3720 or contact me online to schedule your free consultation. I am dedicated to covering all the angles for you.